07.05.2021

How To Know if Someone Added you Back on Snapchat

Snapchat has been growing in popularity for the longest time. In theory it shouldn’t be so popular as it makes the easiest tasks more complicated than they need to be. However, Snapchat has survived and is now thriving with hundreds of millions of daily users. If you’re new to the social network, one key thing you are likely to want to know is if someone added you back on Snapchat if you added them. That’s what we are going to cover today.

Social networking is shifting away from counting likes and friends and more towards the actual social aspects. Snapchat is at the forefront of that. It doesn’t tell you how many followers you have, it doesn’t list your friends and doesn’t provide counts of likes or any of that. Instead, it makes you concentrate on the social side. Creating, sharing and commenting.

That’s great if you’re fresh to social networking but if you’re shifting from Facebook or Twitter, the lack of numbers takes some getting used to. That said, it’s always nice to know if someone you follow has added you back. Snapchat doesn’t make it easy to find out but it is possible.

Has someone added you back on Snapchat?

As far as I know, the only way to find out if someone added you back on Snapchat is to check their Snapchat score. It is a little convoluted but is a sure way to tell if the person you added is now following you or not.

  1. Open Snapchat on your phone.
  2. Select the person in chat or Stories.
  3. Press and hold their username in the list.

If you see their Snapscore under their username, they have added you back. If you don’t see the Snapscore, they have not added you. You can also use My Friends from the Snapchat menu screen and find them there if you prefer.

If you don’t have an existing chat or Story to use and you have not already added them, you can search for their username and find out if they have added you in much the same way.

  1. Navigate to your Snapchat menu screen and select Add Friends.
  2. Select Username and type it into the search box.
  3. Press and hold the correct username that appears and look for the Snapscore.

The same rules apply as above. If you see the user’s Snapscore, they have added you. If you don’t see the score they have not. If you stop right there, you do not add them as a friend, merely inquire. You can select to add them directly from this screen or not as you see fit.

Can you tell if someone has declined you on Snapchat?

Can you see if someone has not added you back on Snapchat? Like being added, you can kind of see if someone declined your kind offer but only indirectly. There are four signs that someone has not accepted your request to be friends.

You do not receive the notification of acceptance

Snapchat sends you a notification when someone adds you. If you don’t see this notification within 48 hours, they have either not seen the request or have declined you.

Your request remains in pending for 48 hours

If you added someone and the status remains pending for two days, it is likely that they either aren’t using Snapchat or don’t want to be friends. Requests time out after 48 hours so it won’t be long until you know for sure.

You can add them again after a couple days

If that 48 hour period has expired, the friend request will disappear. If you go back to your Snapchat menu screen and select Add Friends and are able to add that person again, your original request timed out.

You cannot add them as a friend when selecting them in search

If you select the person from your Snapchat menu screen but tapping the Add icon doesn’t do anything, the person has actively blocked you. Snapchat will not allow you to send a friend request if this happens.

It’s not always personal

While difficult for some to believe, not everyone lives on their phone or on social media. Many employers don’t allow phone use during work hours, some schools and colleges ban phone use during class and sometimes there isn’t enough signal to get things done.

There are dozens of reasons why someone may not have accepted your friend request and many of them are nothing personal. Phones break, people go on vacation, stuff happens and even the most avid phone user is sometimes forced to take time out for a multitude of reasons. So even if they don’t reply or add you back, it may not be personal.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *