Snapchat: How to Tell If Someone Viewed Your Story

It seems like we were writing a story about this not too long ago, and yet here we are again. Snapchat’s controversial 2018 update made some serious changes to Snapchat Stories. Long time fans of the app were left confused and unhappy about the overhaul, going so far as to sign a petition asking Snapchat to roll back the update. While they haven’t completely undone their changes, Snapchat has started to reverse some features. Unfortunately, this only leaves us more confused.

With all of these shifts, how can you tell who’s been viewing your Story? In fact, how can you find and view Stories yourself? The answers to these seemingly simple questions have been in a state of flux over the past several months. To get to the bottom of it, we just had to dig in to the Snapchat app and find out for ourselves. The following will guide you in finding and viewing Stories as well as seeing who has been watching you. But you better check back soon, because the next big update could be just around the corner.

New in Stories 2018

First of all, let’s talk about what you won’t find anymore. The 2018 update did away with the Stories page. No longer can you go to your one-stop Story shop, but if you’re a Snapchat user, then you knew that already.

Instead, Snapchat divided Friend content from sponsored content. By going to your Friend page, you can see all Friend content lumped together, including snaps, messages, and Stories. By going to the sponsored content, you can see everything else.

Snapchat also created more of a “home page” for your profile, making it easier to see some information directly from there without having to hunt through the app.

Now here’s the rub. Too many users were confused about where to go to see their bestie’s Story of the day. Snapchat responded by making these Stories visible from a variety of locations, including the sponsored content page. In short, you can’t miss the Stories now if you tried. However, that doesn’t change the fact that the app is still hopelessly disorganized.

How to Find and View Stories

As described above, there are two main ways to find Stories. Start in the launch page. That’s the screen with the camera. Now do one of the following:

  • Swipe Right – This brings you to your Friends page. You can see a list of friends as well as any snaps, messages, or Stories that might be available. Tap on a Story to view it.

  • Swipe Left – This page is for sponsored accounts and professional content creators. However, you’ll notice a little section at the top for friends’ Stories. You can’t miss it. Again, tap the Story to view it.

Who’s Been Watching Your Stories?

So now you know how to find your friend’s Stories, but how can you tell if they’ve been able to find yours? In the past, you went to your Story in the Stories page and looked through it snap by snap. Now, everything is easily accessible in one central hub.

Starting at the Snapchat camera, tap on the icon in the upper left hand corner. This will bring you to your aforementioned “home page.” Here, you can see your snap score, add new friends, change your settings, and manage your Story.

If you tap on the circle to the left, then you can view your Story how others might view it. If you tap on the center, then you’ll see a drop-down containing each of the snaps within your Story. Each snap will show how long the Snap has been around and how many views it’s received. If you don’t see any views listed, then sorry, nobody has seen your snap. If you do see an eye icon with a number next to it, tap the icon to reveal the names of those people who’ve seen your Story.

Manage Story Settings

See a name you don’t like? You can manage who can and can’t view your Story by clicking on the three vertical dots to the right of your Story in the home page. Doing so will reveal three options.

  • Everyone can view – Literally anyone who chooses to follow you can view your Story.
  • Only my friends can view – Only people who you follow and who follow you back can see your Story.
  • Custom – Choose to block certain friends from seeing your Story, while still allowing others to have a peek.

Note that if you change these settings after having added a snap to your Story, the changes will apply to all future snaps you add. Older snaps will follow the old rules.

It’s worth noting that even as we were writing this article, information put out there as recently as a month ago was no longer valid. As Snapchat continues to perfect its app, more changes are likely on the horizon. Stay tuned for further updates and feel free to comment below if you notice anything new.